skip to content

Harding Distinguished Postgraduate Scholars Programme

Fully-funded Scholarships for the most talented PhD students from the UK and around the world

The Harding Distinguished Postgraduate Scholars Programme was established in February 2019 thanks to an extraordinarily generous donation from the David and Claudia Harding Foundation, the biggest single gift made to a university in the UK by a British philanthropist. 

Harding Distinguished Postgraduate Scholarships provide outstanding PhD students with life-changing opportunities to research and study at the University of Cambridge. These fully funded Scholarships are available to the most talented students in any discipline, from all parts of the UK and the world.



“We are determined that Cambridge should nurture the finest academic talent, whatever the background or means of our students, to help us fulfil our mission ’to contribute to society through the pursuit of education, learning and research at the highest international levels of excellence'.” Professor Stephen J Toope, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Cambridge

Latest news

Edwin de Jager, 2021 cohort, EndoMap project collaboration

7 December 2022

Following the publication of his article on Human Brain Mapping, titled 3D mapping from human cranial endocasts: A powerful tool to study hominin brain evolution in June 2022, Edwin de Jager (2021 cohort, Lucy Cavendish College) has presented his research on many occasions this year. Shortly after the publication, Edwin...

Samuel Stark, 2022 cohort, wins UK RISE competition for MPhil project

6 December 2022

Samuel Stark, 2022, Computer Science and Technology, St Catharine's College, has won the UK RISE student competition 2022 for his MPhil project. The competition is in the area of hardware and embedded systems security. The announcement on the winners can be seen here .

Kate Tilson, 2019 cohort, awarded World Christianities Prize 2022

17 October 2022

Kate Tilson, 2019 cohort, Faculty of History, has been awarded the World Christianities Prize (2022) for an article she submitted to the Journal of Ecclesiastical History. A link to the article is here: